Philly Food Bloggers

Behind the Blog: Thomas Kurek of Sizzle by Tizzle

Thomas Kurek of Sizzle by Tizzle

Thomas Kurek of Sizzle by Tizzle

We’re back with another edition of “Behind the Blog.” This week’s spotlight is on Thomas Kurek of Sizzle by Tizzle.

Name:
Thomas Kurek
Age:
33
Location:
Graduate Hospital
Blog Name:
Sizzle by Tizzle
Blog URL:
http://thesizzlebytizzle.com
Blog Focus:
My blog focuses on my food and drink adventures through the Philadelphia entertainment scene.
Launch Date:
2015
Why did you start blogging?
I have a passion for food and drink and my friend jokingly said to me that I should start a food blog so I did.
What do you like best about blogging?
That I get a built in excuse for overindulging in food and drink.
What platform do you use?
WordPress
How do you promote your blog?
Social media
Do you write all of the blog posts yourself?
Yes
What are your favorite/most popular blog posts?

What is your favorite “foodie” or food blogging experience so far?
My favorite experience was being called up on stage at Franky Bradley’s Draq queen show (Memorial Day Wknd in Philly) while enjoying a few drinks to end a night.
What are your favorite cuisines/meals/recipes?
My favorite cuisines are Italian, Asian and Gastropub fare.
What are your favorite Philly area restaurants?
Brigantessa, American Sardine Bar, Kensignton Quarters, Lloyds Whiskey Bar, Rouge
Who are your favorite Philly area chefs or food business personalities?
Carol, GM at Parc; Scott Schroder, Chef American Sardine Bar and South Philly Tap Room; Le, owner Hop Sing Laundromat
How often do you go out to eat at Philly area restaurants?
2-3 times per week
How often do you cook at home?
Several times per week
What are your favorite stores/shops/markets to shop for food products?
Italian market, Reading Terminal Market, Sue’s Big 8 supermarket
Tell us a few things you think our readers would find interesting about the local food scene.
The best part about the Philadelphia food scene is all of the special foodie events that the restaurants have.
Tell us more about yourself.
That after I got my Masters from Penn I worked as a Host at Parc and I was so good at my job that Starr contemplated sending me to DC to Matire De for the startup of Le Diplomatte
What other food blogs do you follow?
Roads and Kingdoms
Twitter URL:
https://twitter.com/turtle19820
Instagram URL:
https://instagram.com/sizzlebytizzle/

Thanks Thomas! Great job so far on your blog. I enjoyed your Tiz Takes LA series. Been meaning to travel there myself some day.

Are you a local food OR drink blogger and want to be featured in a future Behind the Blog article? Fill out the form right here.

One thought on “Behind the Blog: Thomas Kurek of Sizzle by Tizzle

Leave a Reply

